ITI announces changes, new awards, and resume of in-person events

The International Team for Implantology (ITI) has announced the establishments of three new ITI sections, two new ITI honorary fellowships, and the launch of the ITI Distinguished Achievement award.

During the organisation’s AGM, Charlotte Stilwell, president of ITI, announced three new ITI sections, bringing the overall total to 34. Until recently, Thailand and Vietnam were part of the regional section South East Asia, however their exponential growth and the concentration of activities in these countries made them excellent candidates for their own sections.

Additionally, the ITI Board of Directors awarded the official section status to Ukraine as well, with immediate effect.

“In the light of everything that is currently happening in Ukraine, it is more important than ever to uphold our community spirit,” said Stilwell. “We therefore took the opportunity, in however small a gesture, to grant well-deserved section status to our ITI community in Ukraine. The ITI extends its deeply felt compassion to all those affected by this humanitarian tragedy.”

The ITI honorary fellowship recognises long-standing fellows with a distinguished career, and since 1992, has awarded 21 fellows. This year, the ITI added two new names to the list of eminent honourees: Lisa Heitz-Mayfield from Australia and Frauke Müller from Switzerland, both former ITI board members and committee chairs, and also the first two women to be presented with the ITI’s highest recognition.

The new ITI Distinguished Achievement Award is presented to professionals, within or outside ITI, who have made a strong and enduring contribution to either a specific milestone topic in implant dentistry or a particular ITI project.

The first recipients of this award are Anthony Dawson from Australia and Steven Eckert from the US. Dawson received the award for his contribution to the ITI SAC Classification in Implant Dentistry, and Eckert for his work disseminating implant-related research and knowledge in his editorial role for leading journals within the field.

André Schroeder Research Prizes 2022

At the ITI Annual Conference, Ryan Lee from Australia and Stefan Bienz from Switzerland together with their co-authors were announced winners of the 2022 André Schroeder Research Prizes.

According to ITI in the press release, Lee received the prize for pre-clinical research for his study on “Re-establishment of macrophage homeostasis by titanium surface modification in type II diabetes promotes osseous healing”, and Bienz for his paper on “Clinical and histological comparison of the soft tissue morphology between zirconia and titanium dental implants under healthy and experimental mucositis conditions—A randomized controlled clinical trial”.

ITI Congress Italy and Annual Conference

The ITI has also announced to hold again series of global on-site events, enabling ITI fellows and members to meet again in person, after a three-year hiatus.

The AGM was preceded by the annual conference that focused this year on “Peri-implant soft-tissue integration and management”, in line with the recently published volume 12 of the ITI Treatment Guide book series.

Preceding that, the ITI Congress Italy on “Esthetics in implant dentistry: Clinical and scientific evidence” was held from 31 Mar-1 Apr 2022. Both events attracted 1,005 and 885 participants respectively, as reported by ITI.